Our Members

All our members are unique and have evolved differently, taking on additional roles to match local circumstances and transport needs. This section provides a brief overview of some of these special features to highlight the differing contexts in which our members operate. 

Full Members

Transport for West Midlands (TfWM) covers a population of 2.6 million people.  TfWM is the transport arm of the West Midlands Combined Authority. TfWM owns, promotes and develops the Midland Metro light rail network which operates between Birmingham and Wolverhampton.
For more information, visit the TfWM website.

Merseytravel logo

Merseytravel (Merseyside PTE) serves 1.4 million people. It is unique among the PTEs in being the franchise authority for the local rail network, Merseyrail. It also owns and operates Mersey Ferries and Mersey Tunnels, enabling people to get across the River Mersey.
For more information, visit Merseytravel's website.

West Yorkshire Combined Authority covers a population of 2.2 million. It brings together Bradford, Calderdale, Kirklees, Leeds, Wakefield and York councils and the Leeds City Region Enterprise Partnership (LEP) as a united force for transport and economic growth.
For more information, visit the West Yorkshire Combined Authority website.

NECA logo

North East Combined Authority (neca) covers a population of 2.8 million people. The neca oversees Nexus (the Tyne and Wear PTE) which owns and manages the Tyne and Wear Metro, the busiest light rail network in the country outside London. Nexus also runs the Shields Ferry, the only remaining cross-Tyne ferry service and runs the Pop multi-modal smart ticket system for North East England, including the Tees Valley.    
For more information, visit the neca website.

SYPTE logo

SYPTE (South Yorkshire PTE) covers a population of 1.3m people. SYPTE owns the infrastructure for the Sheffield Supertram light rail system.
For more information, visit SYPTE's website.

TfGM logo

Transport for Greater Manchester (TfGM) serves a population of 2.7 million people. TfGM owns the Manchester Metrolink light rail system and has enhanced responsibilities under a Greater Manchester Combined Authority. TfGM is responsibilities extend to day-to-day management of traffic signals on major highways and highway route performance, incident response and event management via a traffic control centre. They are also responsible for local road safety issues.
For more information, visit Transport for Greater Manchester's website.

Transport for London logo

Transport for London (TfL) covers a population of 8.4m people. TfL is responsible for most aspects of the transport system in London, including buses, the Underground and Overground rail networks, river services, the congestion charging scheme, the main road network, taxis, the Oyster smartcard system and the Santander Cycle Hire scheme.

For more information, visit Transport for London's website.

Associate members
SPT logo

Strathclyde Partnership for Transport (SPT) serves a population of 2.2m people. SPT is the largest of Scotland's seven regional transport partnerships. Their additional activities include operating the Glasgow Subway and subsidising the Kilcreggan Ferry.
For more information, visit SPT's website.

Nottingham City Council logo

Nottingham City Council serves a population of over 300,000 people. As the unitary authority for the area, the Council's core responsibilities include highways as well as transport planning and passenger transport. In addition, Nottingham City Council is joint promoter of the Nottingham Express Transit (NET) light rail system.
For more information, visit Nottingham City Council's website.

West of England logo

Bristol works with its partner authorities in the West of England, which also covers the local authorities of Bath & North East Somerset, North Somerset and South Gloucestershire. The sub-region has a population of just over one million in a highly self-contained travel to work area.
For more information, visit the West of England website.

Tees Valley Combined Authority is a statutory body for Tees Valley and has a population of around 660,000 people. The five Tees Valley local authorities, Darlington, Hartlepool, Middlesbrough, Redcar & Cleveland and Stockton, alongside the business community and other partners, unite within the Combined Authority to improve the economic development, transport, infrastructure and skills.  For more information visit the Tees Valley Combined Authority website.