Our seven Principal Members are the public sector transport authorities for England's largest urban areas: Greater Manchester, West Yorkshire, South Yorkshire, Liverpool City Region, London, Tyne and Wear and the West Midlands.

They are all responsible for overall strategies for local public transport networks. In addition, they are all responsible for bus stations and stops, travel information and they all promote and invest in new public transport infrastructure and services. Where they exist, they are all also responsible for light rail systems and cross-river ferries.

Beyond that, Transport for London has the most extensive direct responsibilities including for fares and ticketing, the bus network, London Underground, strategic highways and London Overground heavy rail services. 

Outside of London, our other six full members (who serve the six Metropolitan areas) are all responsible for socially necessary bus services and concessionary fares. Merseytravel (Liverpool City Region) is also the franchising authority for the Merseyrail Electrics network and is responsible for the Mersey Tunnels. 

All our Principal Members are funded by a combination of one or more of local council taxes, fares revenue, commercial revenue (such as rents and advertising) and grants from national government.

All our members are democratically accountable. Transport for London is accountable to the Mayor of London. Our six other full members are accountable to Mayoral Combined Authorities with the exception of Nexus (Tyne and Wear) which is is accountable to the North East Combined Authority.

You can find out more about our members here.

You can find out more about the history of the Urban Transport Group and its members here.

Find out more about how UK transport governance works in our briefing